St. Louis Blues head coach Ken Hitchcock, Ottawa Senators head coach Paul MacLean and New York Rangers head coach John Tortorella were announced on Monday as the three finalists for the Jack Adams Award as the NHL's coach of the year. The winner of the award, presented by the NHL Broadcasters' Association, will be announced on June 20 at the NHL's awards show in Las Vegas.

Hitchcock took over for Davis Payne 13 games into the season, with the Blues off to a 6-7 start. The Blues went 43-15-11 under Hitchcock's leadership, and are the top seed remaining in the Western Conference. St. Louis trails the Los Angeles Kings, 1-0, in their Western Conference semifinal series, with Game 2 scheduled for 9 p.m. ET on Monday night at the Scottrade Center.

MacLean, in his first year as an NHL head coach after eight years as an assistant with the Ducks and Red Wings, guided Ottawa to a 41-31-10 record and a Stanley Cup Playoff berth. The Senators were a surprise playoff participant this spring, taking the top-seeded Rangers to the limit before bowing out in seven games.

Tortorella is the only former winner among the three finalists, having claimed the award in 2004, when he coached the Tampa Bay Lightning to the Stanley Cup. In his third full season with the Rangers, Tortorella guided the team to a 51-24-7 record and the top seed in the Eastern Conference. They lead the Washington Capitals 1-0 in their Eastern Conference semifinal series, with Game 2 scheduled for Monday night at Madison Square Garden.