Six Past Champions to Return to `Dancing with the Stars'

All-stars to go after that "Mirrorball Trophy"

POSTED: 11:44 AM PDT Jul 27, 2012    UPDATED: 11:57 AM PDT Jul 27, 2012 
Dancing With The Stars Trophy

Past champions Helio Castroneves, Shawn Johnson, Drew Lachey, Kelly Monaco, Apolo Anton Ohno and Emmitt Smith were among the dozen cast members named Friday for the inaugural all-star edition of ABC's "Dancing with the Stars."

The other cast members announced during ABC's portion of the Television Critics Association Summer Press Tour at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills were:

-- actresses Kirstie Alley and Pamela Anderson;
-- former *NSYNC member Joey Fatone;
-- actor Gilles Marini;
-- Bristol Palin, a daughter of former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin; and
-- former "Bachelor" cast member Melissa Rycroft.

An online vote will determine the 13th contestant.

The contenders are Sabrina Bryan, a former member of the singing group The Cheetah Girls; reality television personality Carson Kressley; and actor Kyle Massey.

The voting is conducted on through noon on Aug. 24.

The winner will be announced on the Aug. 27 broadcast of "Good Morning America."

The 15th season of "Dancing with the Stars" is set to begin on Sept. 24, with the first results show scheduled to air the following night.