Voters to decide several Coachella Valley races

State Senate and Assembly seats up for grabs along with measures and nominations for Congressional races

INDIO, Calif. - A host of current and former Coachella Valley officials will vie in today's primary election for congressional and state Senate and Assembly seats.  

Republicans Bonnie Garcia, Jeff Stone, Glenn Miller and Bill Carns are running for the 28th Senate District seat, along with Democrats Anna Nevenic, a nurse, and attorney Philip Drucker.

Exchanges among some of the Republicans in the Senate race have been heated -- Stone, a Riverside County supervisor, and Miller, an Indio city councilman, recently criticized out-of-district funds invested in Garcia's candidacy, while Garcia, a former assemblywoman from Palm Desert, asked the state Attorney General's Office to investigate Stone over allegations of political corruption. 

One of Stone's supporters also asked for an investigation into Garcia's finances.

Meanwhile, Coachella Mayor Eduardo Garcia, a Democrat, and Republican and public safety consultant Charles Bennett Jr. are running for the 56th Assembly District seat. 

Current Assemblyman V. Manuel Perez, D-Coachella, is terming out after six years.

Republicans Brian Nestande, an assemblyman from Palm Desert, and former state Senator and Assemblyman Ray Haynes are running against incumbent 36th Congressional District Rep. Raul Ruiz, a Palm Desert Democrat. Ruiz unseated longtime Rep. Mary Bono two years ago.

The election is a top-two open primary, in which the two candidates with the most votes, regardless of party, move on to the general election in November.

comments powered by Disqus

Photo Galleries