Matthew McConaughey to receive Desert Palm Achievement Award at 25th Annual PSIFF awards gala

Actor Matthew McConaughey will be presented with the Desert Palm Achievement Award at the Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF) in January. This will be the 25th year for the Festival which runs January 3rd through 14th.

"Matthew McConaughey is the rare actor who effortlessly moves between cinematic genres.  From drama to thrillers to romantic comedies, he captivates audiences with the depth and range of his performances," says Harold Matzner, Chairman of the Palm Springs International Film Festival.  "In the acclaimed new movie Dallas Buyers Club, McConaughey plays real-life cowboy Ron Woodroof, who was diagnosed with HIV in 1985 and given a month to live - but fought for dignity, acceptance, and living life to the fullest.  We are privileged to present Matthew McConaughey with an award that honors his extraordinary and versatile talent, the 2014 Desert Palm Achievement Award for acting."

Past actor recipients of the Desert Palm Achievement Award include Jeff Bridges, Bradley Cooper, Daniel Day-Lewis, Colin Firth, Jake Gyllenhaal, Sean Penn, and Brad Pitt.  In the years they were honored, Bridges, Day-Lewis, and Penn went on to win the Academy Award® for Best Actor, while Cooper, Firth, Gyllenhaal, and Pitt received Oscar® nominations.

McConaughey will be presented his award at the Awards Gala, hosted by Mary Hart, Saturday January 4th.

comments powered by Disqus

Photo Galleries